How to Secure Meetings and Webinars & Privacy in Zoom

Overview

“Zoombombing” is a form of trolling that disrupts online meetings and classes with disturbing language or images through screen sharing. As reports of Zoombombing rise, U-M is taking proactive measures to ensure our meetings, classes, and community are protected.

We highly encourage our community to do everything possible to secure their meetings, participants, and data, and recommend the following methods of securing your Zoom meetings. See our Quick Start Guide: Securing Meetings in Zoom for more information.

Watch a recording of U-M ITS Zoom Settings and Security training to learn in detail how to secure your Zoom meetings and webinars.

Prevent Zoombombers from Joining your Meeting or Webinar

There are three different options you can use to prevent Zoombombers from joining your Zoom meeting or webinar. Use multiple options together for extra security. Learn more about these 3 options and which is right for your Meeting or Webinar.

Additionally, it is important to take the following precautions:

  • Avoid publishing Zoom Meeting or Webinar URLs or IDs in public communication channels, such as on a website or social media, whenever possible. If you must post information publicly, refer to Zoom Best Practices for Publicly Accessible Events.
  • Remind participants to not share meeting details.

Minimize Disruptions In Your Meeting or Webinar

Meeting Settings:

  • Disable Join before host to ensure participants are not able to join the meeting before the host arrives. See Scheduling meetings for more information.
    NOTE: If both Join before host AND Automatically record meeting are checked, a participant could join the meeting AND create a recording without your knowledge or permission. Make sure to only check ONE of these at a time, not both.
  • Disable In Meeting Chat through your Profile settings. Here you can toggle off allowing participants to chat. This is also where you can prevent users from saving chat. See Disabling In-Meeting Chat for more information.
  • Ensure only hosts can share their screen through Settings by un-checking Participants under Who can Share? See Managing participants in a meeting for more information. This is on by default.
  • Disable File Transfer in Settings, which will ensure participants are not allowed to share files in the in-meeting chat during the meeting. See In-Meeting File Transfer for more information.
  • Stop a participants video stream to ensure participants are not on video through Manage Participants. See Managing participants in a meeting for more information.
  • Click to Mask phone numbers in the participant list through the Telephone tab in Settings. This masks all telephone numbers called into the meeting.

During your Meeting or Webinar:

  • Mute all participants that are already in the meeting and new participants joining the meeting through Manage Participants. You will be asked to confirm if you’d like to allow participants to unmute themselves. You can choose to uncheck this option. See Mute All And Unmute All for more information.
  • Lock your meeting allows hosts to lock the meeting right at the start (or when enough attendees have joined). At the point a meeting is locked, no other participants are able to join the meeting. See Can I Restrict My Meeting Capacity for more information.
  • Put participants On Hold through Manage Participants while in a meeting. When a user is put on hold, they will be taken out of the meeting until the host clicks to take the user off hold. See Attendee On Hold for more information.
  • Disable private chat through Manage Participants. This prohibits participants from private chatting with other participants. See In-Meeting Chat for more information.

See Host and Co-Host Controls in a Meeting for more information on meeting controls.

Privacy

In Meetings

U-M’s agreement with Zoom stipulates that content shared in Zoom meetings and all other data associated with use of the U-M Zoom service is owned by U-M and cannot be shared. 

For more information, refer to Privacy, Security, Compliance, and Videoconferencing.

For more information on being recorded, refer to Recording and Privacy Concerns FAQ for details on video conferencing recording and privacy.

If a meeting host is recording the session and you do not want to be recorded, do not click “Continue” when the recording prompt appears on your screen and you will be taken out of the meeting. 

After you leave the University

Refer to Zoom: Accounts for People Who Leave U-M to find out what happens to your account when you leave the University.