Google has introduced a new account-blocking capability within Google Calendar to help you manage unsolicited and spam event invitations (similar to those outlined on the ITS Safe Computing site). When you block an individual in Calendar, the event invitation is removed automatically, and future invitations from that sender will be blocked.
To block an account in Calendar:
- Click the calendar event from the person you want to block.
- Click the three-dot icon in the top right of the event dialog.
- Select Block [account].
- Click Block in the pop-up to confirm.
Blocking an account in Calendar adds them to your account-wide blocklist. This prevents interactions with that account across other Google products, like Gmail, Chat, and Drive. Likewise, if you have previously blocked someone in another Google product, their Calendar invites will be blocked automatically.
Important Notes
- You can only block someone from Calendar on a computer.
- You can only block other Google accounts. To block non-Google accounts, block their email address in Gmail.
- After you block someone, any existing invitations from that account remain on your calendar, except the one you used to block them.
- If you don’t want the existing invitations on your calendar, you should delete them manually.
- If you accidentally block someone, you can unblock them from your Google Account settings. After unblocking, you can restore the event from your Calendar trash.
Refer to the Google Help Center to learn more about blocking accounts in Calendar.
If you are experiencing an influx of spam event invites appearing on your U-M Google Calendar, refer to Google: Spam and Phishing Calendar Events for tips on ways to mitigate this issue, including reporting the events as spam or changing your Calendar invitation settings.
According to Google, this feature should be available to everyone by September 30, 2026, but could take longer to become fully visible.
