Google Shared Drives (Team Drives)

Google shared drives (formerly known as Team Drives) deliver security, structure, and ease-of-use by making it easy to:

  • Add new team members: Manage team members individually or with MCommunity groups.
  • Keep track of your files if a team member leaves: Shared drives are jointly owned by the team, meaning anything added to a shared drive stays there no matter who comes or goes.
  • Understand and manage sharing permissions: Team members at the shared drive level see the same files/folders regardless of who adds or reorganizes them. Manage permissions for editing, commenting on, reorganizing, or deleting files/folders at the shared drive, folder, and file level.

Watch a recording of the training webinar on shared drives, review our shared drives documentation, and learn more at the Google Workspace Learning Center.

Want to Stay Up to Date?

Join the U-M Collaboration Forum to receive updates on all of the U-M Dropbox and U-M Google apps.