Virtual Sites

Use Virtual Sites to remotely use a Campus Computing Sites Windows computer from your own device. By using a Sites computer remotely, you have access to university-licensed, specialty software. If you have a Mac, you are able to use Windows-only software. Learn more about Campus Computing Sites software.

Eligibility

Virtual Sites is available to students, faculty, and regular staff on the Ann Arbor and Michigan Medicine campuses. Students must be actively enrolled in a program. A valid uniqname and password are required for access.

Not eligible to use Virtual Sites:

  • UM-Dearborn and UM-Flint students, faculty, and staff
  • Temporary employees
  • Retirees
  • Sponsored affiliates
  • Alumni

If you believe you should be eligible but are unable to use Virtual Sites, contact the ITS Service Center.

Connection Instructions

Virtual Sites uses the VMWare Horizon Client to connect you with a Sites desktop.

  1. Download and install the VMWare Horizon Client on your computer.
    1. Choose the 64-bit version for most Windows computers. Older computers may be required to use the 32-bit version.
    2. If you have a MiWorkspace computer, follow the self-install process using Software Center to install the VMWare Horizon Client on your device:
  2. Open the VMWare Horizon Client and add midesktop.umich.edu as your connection server.
  3. Enter your uniqname and UMICH password. Make sure the selected domain is UMROOT.
  4. Select the Virtual Sites option to connect.

Other connection options may be available, depending on your school/college or unit. For example, College of Engineering students will have additional options for Engineering-related software.

Tips for Using Virtual Sites

  • Your connection┬ámay be terminated if your session lasts longer than 24 hours. You will receive a warning 30 minutes in advance.
  • Save often! You may lose your work if your network connection is interrupted while using Virtual Sites.
  • Don't save to the remote computer's desktop. Files on the remote computer's desktop will be deleted after your session ends. You may use the remote computer's desktop to temporary save files you don't plan to keep.