Students & Alumni

Students & Alumni: Reviewing & Moving CTools Sites

If you took classes that used CTools or collaborated on projects, you may have content that you want to save before CTools retires.  Information on this page can help you get started with that.  Also, check out the FAQs for more information.

 

question mark icon Find your sites & decide what content you need

First find the sites you have access to.  You can do this in CTools using Worksite Setup. 

  1. Login to CTools
  2. Click on My Workspace (top navigation)
  3. Click on Worksite Setup to see a list of all sites you have access to (left side navigation).  If you want to see only the sites you own, click on Site Migration instead.

In either Worksite Setup or Site Migration, click on the name of a site to open it and take a look at what's there.  Review the site content to decide what you want to download and save.  If you own the site,  you can also decide to delete it if no one needs it anymore.

Things to think about: 

  • Am I the right person to make decisions about this site (for sites you own)?  If not, contact the CTools retirement team and let us know who to transfer the site to.
  • Are there other people who use or own the site that I should talk to about what to do with it?
  • Is this content that I need just for myself, or is this used by a student group that's still at U-M?

 

Icon of an arrow pointing downward Move out of CTools

Download content from courses you took

You can download content from your courses one at a time by opening and then downloading course files.  In Resources and DropBox, you can also use the option to Upload/Download Multiple Files (button at the top of the page).  Click on the button and follow the instructions on the page to set up the connection to the CTools course and download files.

Download content from sites you own

If you own course or project sites, you can use the Site Migration tool to download content.  To access the Site Migration tool, login to CTools and go to My Workspace.  You'll see a link to the Site Migration tool in the left-side navigation.  Migration Tool Help provides complete instructions on using the tool.

Once you've downloaded the content, you can store it or move it to an alternative service. Student groups are encouraged to use Maize Pages to host their content and rosters.  Find out more about alternatives on the Alternative Services page or use the CTools Alternatives Wizard.  

 

icon with an X in a circle Delete sites you own and no longer need

You can delete sites that you own using the Site Migraiton tool.  Deleting a site deletes it for everyone who had access to it.

  1. Login to CTools
  2. Click on Site Migration (left-hand navigation)
  3. The Site Migration tool shows a list of all the sites you own or were an instructor on. 
  4. Check the box next to "Delete site" for each site you want to delete 
  5. Click Save changes
  6. Confirm the sites you want to delete in the pop-up box.

(It may take up to 60 minutes for the deletion to complete, so don't worry if the site isn't immediately removed from your list.)