Review the Ownership of Your Project Sites

 

Note: To use the migration tool with a project site, you must have the Owner role in that site.

Click to see

Determining which project site(s) you own and whether a site has multiple owners

Deleting project sites

Removing yourself from a project site

Transferring the owner role to a current site participant

Adding a new participant to take the owner role

 

Determining which project site(s) you own and whether a site has multiple owners

Log in to CTools. Only project sites that you own will appear in the CTool Project Site Migration tool in the left-hand navigation.

To see if a site has multiple owners, while you have the migration tool open, click the Members button to the right of the site's name and scroll to the bottom list in the pop-up window.  

If there are multiple owners, it's important that you communicate and coordinate any site decisions.

 

Deleting project sites

Once you have reviewed the ownership of a project site (see above) and downloaded materials from it (or decided not to download), you can easily delete the site using the Project Migration Tool:

  1. While you have the migration tool open, check the "Delete site" box below the project site's name.
  2. Click the Save changes button on the right above the project site list.   You'll see a pop-up box where you can confirm the deletion.

Note: My Workspace sites cannot be deleted.  To delete content from resources in My Workspace, click on My Workspace, then on Resources.  Select the content to delete, then click Remove.

If you need to delete other types of CTools sites, contact contact the ITS project team with the name of the site(s) to be deleted.  

 

Removing yourself from a project site

There must be at least one person with the Owner role in a project site. If you are the owner and would like to remove yourself from the project site, you'll need to follow the instructions below for either transitioning the Owner role or adding a participant to take the Owner role.

CTools has become read-only.  To have yourself removed as a site owner, contact the ITS project team with the name of the site you would like to be removed from.

If your site was exempted from read-only, you can remove yourself from the site using the steps below:

  1. While in the CTools project site, click Site Info in the left menu.
  2. Scroll down to the participant list.
  3. Check the Remove box to the right of your name.
  4. Click Update Participants.

 

Transferring the owner role to a current site participant

CTools has become read-only.  To have transfer the owner role to another site participant, contact the ITS project team with the name of the site and the name of the person to make a site owner.

If your site was exempted from read-only, you can transfer the ownership role yourself using the steps below:

  1. While in the CTools project site, click Site Info in the left menu.
  2. Scroll down to the participant list.
  3. Using the dropdown menu, give another participant the Owner role. You can also:
    • Change your own role
    • Check the box to the right to remove yourself from the site
    • Remain as a co-owner of the site
  4. Click Update Participants.

 

Adding a new participant to take the owner role

CTools has become read-only.  To have add a participant to the owner role, contact the ITS project team with the name of the site and the name of the person to add as a site owner.

If your site was exempted from read-only, you can add a new participant yourself using the steps below:

  1. While in the CTools project site, click Site Info in the left menu.
  2. Click Add Participant along the top.
  3. Type the participant's uniqname in the upper box.
  4. Check Assign each participant a role individually. Click Continue.
  5. Using the drop-down menu, give the new participant the Owner role. 
  6. Click Continue and follow the online instructions to finish.